Play No Holds Barred here:

Eddie Goldman is the host and producer of the No Holds Barred international podcast, the publisher of the No Holds Barred blog, and a senior contributing editor at the ADCC News.

  • Click here for No Holds Barred on Google Play Music (free Google account required).
  • Click Here for No Holds Barred on PodOmatic.com.
  • Click here for the PodOmatic Podcast Player free app for Android at Google Play.
  • Click here for the PodOmatic Podcast Player free app for iOS on the App Store.
  • Click Here to listen to No Holds Barred via Stitcher through iOS or Android devices or on the web.
  • No Holds Barred is also available through the Aha Radio app for iPhone and Android, and can be played on your phone or tablet or in your car.
  • Subscribe to No Holds Barred
    Browse Archives at groups.google.com

    Web No Holds Barred

    Friday, January 13, 2006


    NEW YORK, January, 13-The Boxing Writers Association of America has voted to bestow a rarely-given honor upon four members of the boxing community. The James S. Farley Award is given in recognition of a career marked by "honesty and integrity." The last person so honored by the organization was Eddie Futch in 1996. This year, the BWAA extends the honor to four individuals.

    Dr. Flip Homansky and Dr. Margaret Goodman are longtime advocates for high medical standards in boxing. During their tenure with the Nevada State Athletic Commission, they fought for implementation of life-saving medical reforms and refused to deviate from their commitment despite pressures that were put upon them.

    Angelo Dundee is revered as a thoroughly decent man in an often mean spirited and back-biting business. Over the past half-century, he has trained fighters like Jimmy Ellis, Luis Rodriguez, Sugar Ramos, Willie Pastrano; and of course, Sugar Ray Leonard and Muhammad Ali.

    Howie Albert has been part of the sweet science for decades as a manager, cutman, publicist, and jack-of-all trades. His designation is, by extension, an honor for all of the less famous men and women who toil in boxing's vineyards.

    The James S. Farley Awards will be presented to recipients at the annual Boxing Writers Association of America dinner to be held on May 5th in Las Vegas.

    Links to this post:

    Comments: Post a Comment


    Post a Comment

    0 comments Tweet

    This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

    © 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 Eddie Goldman all rights reserved.